Nine Tory Resignations In 7 Days, Weak and Fragile Tories In Meltdown

The tsunami of Tory resignations in the last week has been genuinely mind-boggling. These are not just ordinary MPs, they are Conservative Party Officials and Ministers, quitting the Government - and as far as we can recall, it's unprecedented.

The latest is Guto Bebb, MP for Aberconwy, and a Defense Minister, who resigned verbally at the lobby door in the Commons as he voted AGAINST the Government tonight on Amendments to Theresa May's 'Third Way' Brexit Plan.

Earlier, it was Scott Mann, a Parliamentary Private Secretary at the Treasury.

In tonights Brexit vote, Hard Core Brexit'ers won to get their amendments through - but by a wafer-thin 3 votes.

Those 14 Tory MPs who 'rebelled' were Heidi Allen, Guto Bebb, Richard Benyon, Ken Clarke, Jonathan Djanogly, Dominic Grieve, Stephen Hammond, Philip Lee, Nicky Morgan, Bob Neill, Mark Pawsey, Antoinette Sandbach, Anna Soubry and Sarah Wollaston.

Most of these will be resignations will be names you've never heard of, of course - with the exception of Boris Johnson and David Davis - which means it's generally symbolic rather than actually damaging.

But if it's a symbol, it's a symbol of a Prime Minster trying - and failing - to hold together two equal warring sides of her own Party.

Much like the Nation.